Complex Communication Sciences (CCS)

Latest News

  • English page of the Technical Committee on Complex Communication Science (CCS) has been opened.
    (Jun. 13, 2015).

About CCS

  • In April 2011, the technical committee on Complex Communication Sciences (ab. CCS) was founded under the nonlinear theory and its applications subsociety (NLSS) of the engineering science society (ab. ESS) of the institute of electronics, information and communication engineers (IEICE) as a temporary technical committee. In April 2015, the CCS was promoted to a permanent technical committee under the nonlinear theory and its applications society (NLS) of the IEICE, where the NLS was also promoted to the full society at the almost same time. The research subjects of the CCS cover a wide variety of scientific and engineering problems in real world systems such as telecommunication systems in all layers, biological and nervous systems, and human and social communication systems. The primary mission of the CCS is to create a new kind of science that reveals essentials, limitations, and underling universal principles among such real world scientific and engineering problems.

Target research topics

  • Communications and network applications with nonlinear sciences, complex sciences, and graph theory, and network theory
  • Sciences of bio-systems, communication systems, wireless communications, information networks, mobile networks, radar and tomography measurements, and power networks
  • Nonlinear sciences, complex sciences, and bio-system sciences using network-research-field theories
  • Sciences and applications of distributed optimization
  • Physical random number generators and security


  • International
  1. 5th Japan-Korea Joint Workshop on Complex Communication Sciences (JKCCS2016)
    Oct. 20-23, 2016 (Pukyong National University, Busan, Korea)
  1. Jun. 13-14, 2016 (Kikai-Shinko-Kaikan Bldg., Japan)
  2. Aug. 09-10, 2016 (Yoichi Chuo kominkan, Hokkaido, Japan)
  3. Oct. xx-xx, 2016 (TBA, Kansai Section, Japan)
  4. Mar. xx-xx, 2016 (TBA, Tokyo Section, Japan)

Committee Members


Hiroo Sekiya (Chiba Univ.)

Vice Chair:

Yasuhiro Tsubo (Ritsumei Univ.)
Naoki Wakamiya (Osaka Univ.)


Shintaro Arai (NIT, Kagawa College)
Hiroyuki Torikai (Kyoto 
Sangyo Univ.)


Takayuki Kimura (Nippon Inst. of Tech.)
Song-Ju Kim (NIMS)
Ryo Takahashi (Kyoto Univ.)
Jun-nosuke Teramae (Osaka Univ.)


Contact address: ccs-sec[at] (Replace [at] with @)