

AWAD 2021



2021 Asia-Pacific Workshop on Fundamentals and Applications of **Advanced Semiconductor Devices**

https://www.ieice.org/~sdm/jpn/awad2021/ August 26 - 27, 2021 **ONLINE**

First Call for Papers

2021 Asia-Pacific Workshop on Fundamentals and Applications of Advanced Semiconductor Devices (AWAD 2021) will be held virtually, from August 26 (Thu.) to 27 (Fri.), 2021. This annual workshop has been held alternately in Japan and Korea since 1993, and the 2021 Workshop will be the 28th in a series of the workshop. The purposes of this workshop are to bring scientists and engineers together, actively engaged in advanced semiconductor devices and materials, and to discuss the present and future device processing and related technologies. The workshop will cover the entire field of semiconductor devices and materials, from fundamental physics to recent improvements in device performance and processing technology.

Sponsored by

Electronics Society, The Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers of Japan (IEICE-ES), in cooperation with The Institute of Electronics and Information Engineers (IEIE).

Topics to be discussed will include, but not necessarily be limited to, the following areas:

- Advanced integration technologies
- Wide bandgap power semiconductors
- Optoelectronics, Displays, and Imagers
- Batteries, Hydrogen generation, Photocatalysis
- Neuromorphic devices and compute technologies
- Power electronic devices

- MOS logic and memory devices
- Compound semiconductor and high-speed devices
- Nano, 2D materials, wearable devices
- Characterization and simulation
- Quantum devices and compute technologies

Abstract submission

Prospective authors must submit 2-pages camera-ready extended abstract (including figures and tables) for the technical digest with author information via the workshop website (the submission page will open soon) no later than April 10 (Fri.), 2020.

Important Dates (JST):

Deadline for abstract submission: July 17, 2021, JST (Extended)

For inquiries from Japan and other countries:

Nobuaki Kobayashi (Nihon Univ.)

E-mail: kobayashi.nobuaki@nihon-u.ac.jp

Takahiro Mori (AIST)

E-mail: mori-takahiro@aist.go.jp

For inquiries from Korea: Sangwan Kim (Ajou Univ.)

E-mail: sangwan@ajou.ac.kr

Special issues in IEICE Transaction on Electronics (IEICE-C) / Journal of Semiconductor **Technology and Science (JSTS)**

Authors are encouraged to submit their extended manuscript to the special issue either in 'IEICE Transactions on Electronics' (SCIE journals) or 'Journal of Semiconductor Technology and Science'. The submitted papers will published via a peer-review process. Detailed information will be accounted at the workshop and conference website.

Young Researcher Award

AWAD2021 'Young Researcher Award' and 'Young Researcher Poster Award' will be given to outstanding oral/poster presentations authored and presented by young researchers at AWAD2021.

- 1. Candidate should be the first author who is a student (checked "student" in his/her paper submission form at initial submission) and present his/her paper by him/herself. Candidate should not be a person who has received the 'Young Researcher Award' in the past AWAD.
- 2. Young Researcher Award recipients are decided by the AWAD committee members on the basis of the evaluation of the manuscript for the technical digests and presentation. The number of award recipients is two.
- 3. Young Researcher Poster Award recipients are decided by the AWAD committee members on the basis of the evaluation of the poster presentation. The number of award recipients is two.
- 4. Each winner will receive a certificate and a gift.
- 5. The award ceremony will be held at the closing session on the final day. Each winner will be called and awarded by the workshop co-chairs.

Language

The official language of the workshop is English.

Registration

	Regular	Student
Early-registration Fee (by 17:00, June 30)	JPY 20,000	JPY 10,000
Late Registration Fee	JPY 25,000	JPY 15,000

^{*} Detailed information about registration will be available at the workshop website.

Organizing Committee

Workshop Co-chairs

Hiroshige Hirano (TPSCo) Hyungtak Kim (Hongik Univ.)

Workshop Vice-chairs

Shunichiro Ohmi (Tokyo Tech), Woo Young Choi (Sogang Univ.)

Program chairs

Nobuaki Kobayashi (Nihon Univ.) Myounggon Kang (Korea Natl. Univ. of Transportation)

Tomoyuki Suwa (Tohoku Univ.)

Junseok Heo (Ajou Univ.)

Secretariat

Takahiro Mori (AIST) Sangwan Kim (Ajou Univ.)
Taiji Noda (Panasonic) Garam Kim (Myongji Univ.)

Steering committee chair

Takahiro Shinada (Tohoku Univ.) Sanghyeon Kim (KAIST)