Sister Society Agreement between VDE/ITG and IEICE-CS

On September 14, 2005, the Communications Society of the IEICE has made a new Sister Society agreement with <u>VDE/ITG</u> $^{(*1)}$, a German society in the field of information and communications technology.

This is the 4th <u>Sister Society</u> agreement for IEICE-CS, following those with the <u>IEEE ComSoc</u>, the <u>KICS</u>, and the MCU. Through this new agreement, both societies will cooperate towards the progress of the academic fields of mutual interest, and will implement programs to bring various benefits to their members.

^(*1) VDE: *Der Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik*, the Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies

ITG: Die Informationstechnische Gesellschaf), the Information Technology Society

Sister Society Agreement

To construct a cooperative relationship between VDE/ITG and IEICE-CS, an agreement was reached between the two societies. The main article of this Sister Society Agreement states that both organizations will promote cooperation in academic fields of mutual interest, and to implement its details for items such as, but not limited to:

- 1. Membership Service for Members of the other Organization.
- 2. Privilege of Members of either Organization upon submission of papers to the meetings and conferences sponsored by the other Organization.
- 3. Privilege of Members of either Organization upon registration to the meetings and conferences sponsored by the other Organization.
- 4. Privilege of Members of either Organization upon subscription to the publications by the other Organization.
- 5. Promotion of the other Organization's activities through publications, web sites and mailing lists.
- 6. Technical co-sponsorship to the meetings and conferences sponsored by the other Organization.

This Agreement will be valid for 4 years. Using this as an umbrella, details of the member benefits will be worked out over the next few months.

Agreement Ceremony

The Agreement was signed on September 14, 2005, at the Get-Together Party of the $\underline{11}^{\text{th}}$ <u>German-Japanese Symposium</u> in Tokyo, with the following delegates.

(1) Signers:

- Prof. Joerg Eberspächer, Past President VDE/ITG, Board Member of VDE for Dr. Hans Heinz Zimmer, VP (Deputy CEO) of VDE
- Dr. Yukou Mochida, President of IEICE-CS
- (2) Witnesses:
 - Prof. Arnold Picot, Steering Committee Chair of G-J Symposium
 - Prof. Heinz Thielmann, Former Member of VDE/ ITG Board
 - Dr. Roland Raschke, President of VDE Rhein-Main Branch, Speaker VDE/ITG-Section Communication Technology
 - Prof. Shigeo Tsujii, Former President of IEICE, Steering Committee Chair of G-J Symposium
 - Prof. Tomonori Aoyama, VP of IEICE, Former President of IEICE-CS
 - Dr. Kazuo Imai, Auditor of IEICE
 - Prof. Yasushi Wakahara, VP of IEICE-CS
 - Satoshi Yoshizawa, Director for Membership Services of IEICE-CS

With Dr. Raschke and Prof. Aoyama presiding over the ceremony, the event went through with a warm and friendly atmosphere, affirming the future prosperity of the two societies. Prof. Picot and Prof. Tsujii gave congratulatory greetings, followed by a cheerful toast by over 150 people attending the party.

At the Ceremony, Dr. Mochida, President of IEICE-CS announced that IEICE-CS will technically co-sponsor the World Telecommunications Congress 2006 (<u>WTC2006</u>), organized by VDE/ITG and HTE. He assured that IEICE-CS will actively take its role to lead this conference, to be held in Budapest, Hungary in spring of 2006, into a great success.

This is only the beginning of a long and promising future in the collaboration between VDE/ITG and IEICE-CS. Please look forward to the announcements of added IEICE-CS Membership benefits implemented based on this Sister Society Agreement.



Prof. Joerg Eberspächer & Dr. Yukou Mochida signing the Sister Society Agreement (All photos courtesy of *German-Japanese Symposium*)



"Kampai!" (a toast) to congratulate the new Agreement



From left to right: Prof. H. Thielmann, Prof. A. Picot, Dr. R. Raschke, Prof. J. Eberspächer, Dr. Y. Mochida, Prof. S. Tsujii, Prof. T. Aoyama, Dr. K. Imai, Prof. Y. Wakahara, and S. Yoshizawa